Voters head to the polls in NC, SC for election day

Early voters at the Marion Diehl Recreation Center Saturday. Saturday was the last day of early voting. (Credit: Diedra Laird | The Charlotte Observer)Early voters on the Marion Diehl Recreation Middle Saturday. Saturday was the final day of early voting. (Credit score: Diedra Laird | The Charlotte Observer)

CHARLOTTE, NC (WBTV) -&#thirteen;

Mecklenburg County residents will get an opportunity to vote for Charlotte’s new mayor Tuesday. 

The newest determine from the Mecklenburg Board of Elections factors to the truth that greater than 36,000 individuals turned out on the polls days earlier than the common election and voted early.

Elections Supervisor Michael Dickerson predicts a turnout of 17 %, however he is involved about Nov. 7’s turnout, due to the specter of rain, and he is not alone.

PREVIOUS: Mayoral candidates categorical concern over rain on election day

RELATED: FIRST ALERT: Showers attainable all day, anticipate cooler days to comply with

Listening to the forecast is on the prime of democrat Vi Lyles’ thoughts.

She recollects, “It rained on the first day, however by mid-afternoon we caught up.” 

Because it pertains to what might fall from the sky, Kenny Smith additionally sees precipitation affecting voter participation.

“It is a variable. You need to account for it. We’re hoping our message and our enthusiasm hole will overcome any climate situation,” Smith stated.

The making of Charlotte’s subsequent mayor will collectively value greater than $1 million being spent by each candidates.

Polls opened in North Carolina at 6:30 a.m. and shut at 7:30 p.m. Polls opened in South Carolina at 7 a.m. and shut at 7 p.m. In line with the South Carolina Election Fee, you’ll be allowed to vote so long as you’re in line by 7:00 p.m.

North Carolina residents can discover their voting location right here. In the event you’re a South Carolina resident, discover your voting location right here. 

Outcomes ought to begin coming in a few half-hour after the polls shut. 

Copyright 2017 WBTV. All rights reserved.

Source link